You're currently on:

About Us


Ted Hutchinson

Executive Director and Publications Director

In 2009, Ted Hutchinson was appointed Executive Director of the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics. He also serves, concurrently, as the Editor of the Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, and oversees all of the publishing activities of ASLME. In 2008 he created the "Ted Lines" blog on the ASLME website. He has served as Editor of JLME for more than nine years and has brought more than 50 issues of ASLME's flagship publication to print. Mr. Hutchinson graduated with honors from Providence College and received a Master's Degree in history from Tufts University. He taught for four years at Tufts and the University of Virginia, and has worked at the Massachusetts Historical Society and on the award-winning journal The New England Quarterly. Mr. Hutchinson is also an Adjunct Professor of History at the New England College of Business and Finance. In addition to his work with ASLME, he serves on the editorial boards of the Cambridge Dictionary of Bioethics and the journal Finest Hour. His scholarly and popular writings have appeared in many publications.

Katie Kenney Johnson

Conference Director

Katie Johnson manages all ASLME conferences and meetings. She is also responsible for Continuing Medical and Legal Education projects. She has been with ASLME since 2002. Prior to ASLME, Ms. Johnson worked as a fundraiser/special event planner at a Boston area hospital. She was also employed for several years with the Greater Washington Board of Trade in Washington, DC, where she coordinated various networking events for the business community. Ms. Johnson has a degree in Communications from the University of New Hampshire.

Margo Smith

Membership Director

Margo Smith handles the various membership and subscription activities for ASLME. Since 2007, she has served as a liaison between the Society and its current and prospective members. This role includes managing account information, handling membership renewals, and answering general membership questions. Before joining ASLME, Mrs. Smith worked for a marketing company that assisted clients with employee and customer benefits. She graduated from Boston University's College of Communication with a concentration in Public Relations.

Courtney McClellan

Assistant Editor

Courtney McClellan edits, copyedits, and proofreads the Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, and assists in the peer review process for submitted articles. She also manages ASLME's social networking sites, which provide a forum for better interaction with readers, members, and the health law community. A graduate of Boston University with a degree in psychology and a certificate in magazine publishing, Ms. McClellan joined ASLME in 2007. Prior to joining ASLME, she was the editor of a girls' online magazine and interned at local Boston magazines.

Board of Directors

Lindsay F. Wiley, JD, MPH, Current ASLME President, American University, Washington College of Law
Seth Axelrad, JD, Baxter International
Arthur R. Derse, MD, JD, FACEP, Medical College of Wisconsin
Michele Bratcher Goodwin, JD, LLM, University of California, Irvine School of Law
Aaron S. Kesselheim, MD, JD, MPH, Harvard Medical School
David Orentlicher, MD, JD, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Kevin Outterson, JD, LLM, Ex-Officio Member of the Board, Boston University School of Law
Charity Scott, JD, Georgia State University College of Law
Lawrence E. Singer, JD, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Past Presidents

Mary Ann Bobinski, JD
Kathleen Boozang, JD, LLM
Alexander M. Capron, LLB
Thomas E. Cargill Jr., JD
Ellen Wright Clayton, MD, JD
Ronald E. Cranford, MD
Judith Daar, JD
Bernard M. Dickens, PhD, LLD
Nancy Neveloff Dubler, LLB
James G. Hodge, Jr., JD, LLM
Diane Hoffmann, JD, MS
Angela R. Holder, LLM
Sandra H. Johnson, JD, LLM
John Lantos, MD
Robert J. Levine, MD
John L. (Jack) McCarthy, MBA
Ruth A. Mickelsen, JD, MPH
Aubrey Milunsky, MBBCh, Dsc, FRCP, DCH
Christine Mitchell, RN, MS, MTS
John A. Norris, JD, MBA
David Orentlicher, MD, JD
Ruth B. Purtilo, PhD
Philip R. Reilly, MD, JD
Karen H. Rothenberg, JD, MPA
Mark A. Rothstein, JD
Elliot L. Sagall, MD
Colleen Scanlon, RN, MS, JD
Sidney Scherlis, MD
Charity Scott, JD
MaryCarroll Sullivan, RN, MTS, JD

Previous Page